Florida's Zero Tolerance Policy
Charged with Underage DUI? We Can Help.
Florida's DUI laws are tough and even minors can experience serious
consequences if convicted. The state's zero tolerance policy directly
affects underage drivers, so it is imperative that you obtain legal representation
if you were recently charged with underage DUI. At Brian L. Edwards, Esq.,
we are here with the aggressive defense strategies you need.
Our DUI lawyer has been representing Fort Myers residents for 15 years
and is familiar with the legal nuances of drunk driving cases. With our
firm on your side, you can meet your charges head on. We understand that
a DUI conviction can permanently tarnish your reputation and are prepared
to fight tirelessly in the courtroom on your behalf.
Submit an online form to request your
free consult and we'll take care of the rest!
How Does the Zero Tolerance Policy Affect Minors?
As in all 50 states, Florida makes it illegal for anyone under the age
of 21 to consume alcohol. In order to deter minors from drinking and driving,
however, Florida also enacted a zero tolerance policy. This means that
if a minor has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 or higher, they
can be charged with drunk driving.
The zero tolerance policy also affects chemical tests for underage drivers
in the following ways:
- Refusing to take a chemical test results in a one year license suspension
- Testing at .02 or higher results in a suspended license for at least six months
- Testing at .05 or higher results in a license suspension until the driver
completes a substance abuse evaluation and course
While you can contest a suspension, the state only gives you 10 days from
the time of your arrest to do so. It is crucial that you move quickly
in order to avoid missing this window. Fortunately, our firm is prepared
to spring into action the moment you call.
Dial (239) 204-5657 to Protect Your License
The thought of losing your driving privileges is scary, but even more frightening
is the damage that a DUI conviction can do to your record as a minor.
We understand your need for legal assistance and can walk with you every
step of the way as you fight your underage DUI charges.
You only have 10 days to act! There is no time to waste. Get in touch with
our Fort Myers DUI attorney today!
Call (239) 204-5657
to get started.