Penalties for DUI in Florida
Fort Myers DUI Attorney Fighting for You
The penalties for conviction of a
DUI charge, as defined in Florida Statutes §316.193(2)(a), can be extremely
harsh. The penalties can also be increasingly harsh depending on a number
of factors such as:
- BAC reading at 0.15% or higher
- Previous convictions
- Having a minor in the vehicle at your time of arrest
- DUI with suspended license
- And many others
If you are convicted of a first DUI charge then you will face penalties
of the following:
- Fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000, for a BAC of 0.15 or
higher, or a minor in the vehicle, a fine of no less than $1,000 and no
more than $2,000
- Community service of a mandatory 50 hours
- Probation sentence may not exceed one year
- Imprisonment for no more than six months, with a BAC of 0.15 or higher,
or a minor in the vehicle, no more than nine months
- Impoundment or immobilization of your vehicle for no more than 10 days
- Driver license revocation for no less than 180 days and no more than one year
Felony DUI in Florida
A second and
subsequent DUI conviction will result in increased penalties. If you are charged with
a felony DUI then you could face extremely harsh penalties. A felony DUI
occurs with a third or subsequent offense within 10 years of the first,
or if an intoxicated accident causes serious bodily injury to another.
These are conditions for a third degree felony which carries penalties
of no more than a $5,000 fine and up to five years imprisonment.
If you have been charged with DUI manslaughter then you will face second
degree felony charges which carry penalties of up to $10,000 in fines
and up to 15 years in prison. A leaving the scene enhancement increases
the prison sentence to up to 30 years.
Are you facing DUI charges of any kind? Seek the legal assistance of a
former prosecutor and successful Fort Myers DUI lawyer from our firm today!
Call (239) 204-5657 to get started.